Allergen Alert

General Food Allergen Information

Not all people can eat all foods. Some foods or ingredients can cause adverse reactions due to individual body chemistries. These can be described as either food intolerance or food allergies. Food intolerance is reactions to chemicals in food, such as monosodium glutamate (MSG), or the mineral sulfur. Enzyme deficiencies, such as lactose intolerance, can also lead to discomfort when lactose-containing foods are consumed.
Actual food allergies can come on suddenly or may be delayed and can be very serious. Among the most common allergy-causing foods are derived from the following 8 key food groups:

1. Milk
2. Eggs
3. Peanuts
4. Tree Nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans)
5. Fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod)
6. Crustacean Shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, shrimp)
7. Wheat
8. Soybeans

These eight food groups, and any ingredient that contains protein derived from one or more of them, are designated as “major food allergens” by FALCPA. Food Allergen Labeling and consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA).

Johnny Rockets products may contain one or more of the potential allergens listed here. Please know that we do everything in our power to ensure a pleasant visit for all of our guests. This includes keeping strict guidelines to help minimize the possibility of cross-contamination of products which can be considered allergens. If your condition is life threatening then it may be in your best interest to avoid our restaurant due to the possible, however extremely unlikely, event that residue from the products you are concerned with may come in contact with those considered safe.

Notes about wheat allergies & celiac disease

Johnny Rockets products feature ingredients which may contain wheat flour and/or gluten. If your condition is life threatening then it may be in your best interest to avoid our restaurant due to the possible, however extremely unlikely, event that residue from contraindicated products may come in contact with those considered “safe.”

Notes about soy allergies

Johnny Rockets currently uses soybean oil for its fried foods. Studies show that most soy-allergic individuals may safely eat soybean oil and soy lecithin. However, many items fried in soybean oil contain gluten and should be avoided. (Chicken Tenders, Onion Rings etc) Therefore these items are not called out specifically on the Ingredients List as potential allergens. Patients should consult their doctors on whether or not to avoid these ingredients.

If you have further questions regarding ingredients in our products or nutritional information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Food Allergen “Advisory” Labeling

FALCPA’s labeling requirements do not apply to the potential or unintentional presence of major food allergens in foods resulting from “cross-contact” situations during manufacturing, e.g., because of shared equipment or processing lines. In the context of food allergens, “cross-contact” occurs when a residue or trace amount of an allergenic food becomes incorporated into another food not intended to contain it. FDA guidance for the food industry states that food allergen advisory statements, e.g., “may contain [allergen]” or “produced in a facility that also uses [allergen]” should not be used as a substitute for adhering to current good manufacturing practices and must be truthful and not misleading. FDA is considering ways to best manage the use of these types of statements by manufacturers to better inform consumers.

Johnny Rockets is proud to announce that we have committed to moving forward with plans to purchase only cage-free shelled eggs by 2026. This transition period, which reflects the industry standard, will best allow us to promote sustainable business practices, while ensuring that the longstanding relationships with our supply partners remain strong.